Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Jul 15, 2018

Absentee voting begins soon for school boards

By David Hotle | Aug 08, 2017



With Friday having been the deadline for petitions to run for seats on the three school boards in Washington County, elections administrator Sue Meeks said absentee voting for the races will begin either later today or Wednesday.

In two of the three districts there will be contested races. The only race not to be contested is in the Highland School District, in which Rachel Longbine is running for director of District 1. Megan Allen is also the sole candidate for the District 5 seat. There is no candidate for the open District 3 seat.

In the Washington School District, incumbent Dana McDole will face off against challenger Catherine Glinsmann for the District 2 seat. In the District 5 election, newcomer Kelly Wieland will face off against incumbent Heidi Vittetoe. Jason Hamilton is running unopposed for the director-at-large seat, currently held by Patty Roe who had announced she would not run.

In the Mid-Prairie School District, incumbents Gabrielle R. Frederick, Jim Hussey and Jodi Meader are running for three director seats. In the race to fill a director seat for a term ending in 2019, Denise Chittick will face Emily Uhl.

Absentee voting may be done in person at the Washington County Auditor’s Office at the Courthouse in Washington. Auditor’s Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays.

Alternatively, a ballot can be mailed to a voter if they fill out and submit a request form.

The ballot request form may be obtained from the Washington County Auditor’s Office or the following websites: co.washington.ia.us or sos.iowa.gov.

If requesting a ballot by mail, the signed request may be delivered or mailed to the Washington County Auditor, Box 889, Washington, IA 52353. The school board election will be held Sept. 12.

Anyone having questions should contact the Washington County Auditor’s Office (319) 653-7717.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.