Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 20, 2017

Agencies on Aging cut to six in Iowa

Nov 20, 2012

DES MOINES — DES MOINES — Iowa Department on Aging Donna Harvey stated that the Commission on Aging has designated six organizations as Area Agencies on Aging (AAA’s) to serve older Iowans.

During the 2012 session of Iowa’s 84th General Assembly, HF 2320 de-designated all existing 13 Area Agencies on Aging (AAA’s) effective June 30, 2013. Effective July 1, 2013, all 99 Iowa counties will be served by one of the six organizations.

Washington County will be in Service Area 4 - Heritage Area Agency on Aging, along with the counties of Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones and Linn.

To access the new Planning and Services Areas (AAA’s) map go to: <http://www.aging.iowa.gov/Documents/Commission/Attachments/2012/4.27.12/6_PSAMap.pdf>.

For more information on the Iowa Department on Aging go to: <www.iowaaging.gov/>. To find out about local resources for older adults and people with disabilities, contact the Iowa Association of Area Agencies on Aging/Iowa Family Caregiver website at <www.i4a.org>.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.