Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

County heads to the polls

By Andy Hallman | Nov 02, 2012

The residents of Washington County will have a lot to think about Tuesday. They’ll have a hand in deciding electoral races at the local, state and national level.

Voters should be mindful that if they wish to vote in person on Election Day, their precinct location might have changed since they last voted. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 9 p.m. on Election Day.

The City of Washington is divided into four wards, each with its own polling place. If voters are unsure of which ward they are in, they may call the Washington County Auditor’s Office at 653-7715 to find out.

Ward 1 – Polling place: Washington County Courthouse. Ward 1 is the northwest section of town. It is in supervisor District 4.

Ward 2 – Polling place: Central Park Community Center. Ward 2 is the northeast section of town. It is in supervisor District 5.

Ward 3 – Polling place: Former Washington Library. Ward 3 is the southeast section of town. It is in supervisor District 5.

Ward 4 – Polling place: Halcyon House. Ward 4 is the southwest part of town. It is in supervisor District 4.

Ainsworth Precinct – Polling place: Ainsworth Fire Station. The Ainsworth Precinct includes Ainsworth, all of Oregon and Highland townships and about half of Iowa Township. This precinct is in the board of supervisors’ District 3.

Brighton/Marion/Crawford Precinct – Polling place: Brighton Community Building. The Brighton/Marion/Crawford Precinct includes Crawfordsville, Brighton and all of Brighton, Marion and Crawford townships. This is also in supervisor District 3.

Kalona Precinct – Polling place: Kalona Community Building. The Kalona Precinct includes Kalona and the northeast corner of English River Township. It is in supervisor District 2.

Riverside Precinct – Polling place: Riverside City Hall. The Riverside Precinct includes Riverside and roughly the northern half of Iowa Township. It is in supervisor District 2.

Wellman Precinct – Polling place: Parkside Activities Center. The Wellman Precinct includes Wellman, Lime Creek Township and most of English River Township. It is in supervisor District 1.

West Chester Precinct – Polling place: West Chester Heritage Building. The West Chester Precinct includes West Chester and all of Cedar, Seventy Six, Dutch Creek and Clay townships. It is in supervisor District 1.

Two cities will have council elections. Washington will decide its next councilor from Ward 3. Those on the ballot are incumbent Bob Shellmyer and challenger Tom Bowler.

Kalona will also have a special election. Craig Spitzer is running uncontested for a spot on the council. Jenelle Bender is also running uncontested for the council.

In the supervisor races, Republican Jack Seward Jr. and Democrat Kay Ciha are running for the District 1 seat. Republican Bob Yoder, Democrat Dawn McCoy and Independent candidates Randy Billups and Mary Zielinski are running in District 2. Republican Stan Stoops, Democrat Richard Gilmore and Independent Adam Mangold are running in District 4.



Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.