Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Jun 20, 2018

County prepares for city elections

Sep 25, 2017

By David Hotle, The JOURNAL


With the deadline to turn in petitions to run for city councils in Washington County being Friday, Sept. 22, the Washington County Auditor’s office has released a list of names of people seeking positions in city government.



No challenged races have been reported in Ainsworth. Incumbent mayor Troy McCarthy has filed to seek another four year term as mayor. Seeking three four-year council seats are newcomer Tim Bean and incumbents Virginia Schuerman and Jared Waters.



Races for the mayor’s office and one of the council positions has been reported in Brighton. Incumbent Mayor Robert B. Farley will face off against council veteran David Hagans. In the council race, three people have applied for two positions. On the ballot will be incumbent Charles J. Emry and newcomers Rose Jaynes and David E. McArtor.



In Crawfordsville, five people have filed to seek three seats on the city council. Running for the positions are Sheila Baker, Cory Hogue, incumbent Gene Miller, incumbent Carolyn Steele and Catherina Williams. Incumbent Mayor Craig Davey is seeking another four year term as mayor.



Four people will face off for three seats on the Kalona City Council. Incumbents Mark Robe, Joe Schmidt, and Craig Spitzer and incumbent Ronald C. Slechta have filed to seek the offices.



In Riverside, both the mayor race and the council race are contested. In the Mayor’s race, incumbent Allen Schneider will run against newcomer Joseph A. Graff. Running for two seats on the council are incumbents Ralph Schnoebelen and Tom Sexton and newcomers Edgar McGuire and Andy Rodgers.



The Washington mayor’s office and two of the three open offices will be contested. In the mayor’s race, council member Jaron Rosien will face off against Pete Schaefer. Incumbent Steve Gault is running for a four-year term as the Ward 2 representative. IN the Ward 4 contest, incumbents Bob Gaal, Chris Gault and Fran Stigers have all filed papers to run. In the council at-large seat left vacant by council member Cathryn Salazar, newcomers Elaine Moore and Evie Richarddson have filed.



In Wellman, incumbent Mayor Ryan Miller is running unopposed. In the council election, Mark Philpot and incumbent Shannon McCain have filed to run for two open council seats.



In the unopposed West Chester council race, incumbent mayor Chad Peiffer has filed papers to run again. Incumbent council members Steven Lippard and Vanessa Wasson and newcomers Andrew barnhart, Ron Carey and Ruth Lankford have filed to run for five open seats.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.