Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Jun 23, 2018

Demon XC teams place fourth at SEC meet

Oct 13, 2017
Brooke Stout

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


FORT MADISON — The Washington cross-country teams set their sails towards Ft. Madison on Thursday evening for the Southeast Conference meet. The Demons placed fourth in both team standings and had four All-SEC honorees.

The Demon girls had the best score of the two teams. They finished with 71 points, just three points behind third-place Fairfield. Mt. Pleasant won the meet with 36 points.

Brooke Stout was the first Demon girl to cross the finish line. She placed seventh in 21:29.2. Molly Sparks gave the Washington girls two All-SEC selections with a ninth-place finish of 21:36.8.

Ashley Telleen and Meredith Raber placed 16th and 17th respectively. Tellen finished in 22:43.6 and Raber crossed in 22:44.9.

Peyton Cuddeback finished 23rd with a time of 24:00.7. Josie Tanner was 29th in 24:45.

The boys’ team had 81 points, which was well ahead of Keokuk for fourth but 14 points behind Fairfield for third. Mt. Pleasant took the boys’ team title as well, finishing with 34 points.

Brennan and Even Horak each placed in the top 10, giving them all-conference honors. Brennan crossed the line in 17:36, and Evan crossed in 17:52.3.

Jacob Van Osdol was 14th overall with a time of 18:30.4. Matthew Collett finished 26th in 19:36.3. Blake Hartzler placed 28th in 19:46.1. Kiowa Keith was 31st in 20:51.1, and Ben Loy was 32nd in 21:22.1.

Full team results followed by the All-Conference teams for both races can be found below.

GIRLS’ TEAM STANDINGS: Mt. Pleasant 36, Ft. Madison 53, Fairfield 68, Washington 71, Keokuk (No team score)

GIRLS’ ALL-SEC TEAM: 1. Ashley Bloomquist, Fairfield; 2. Abby Ryon, Mt. Pleasant; 3. Sierra HOwardson, Ft. Madison; 4. Brett Schneider, Ft. Madison; 5. Taylor Murray, Mt. Pleasant; 6. Yana Gaskell, Fairfield; 7. Brooke Stout, Washington; 8. Delaney McDowell, Mt. Pleasant; 9. Molly Sparks, Washington; 10. Kendall Dascher, Mt. Pleasant.

BOYS’ TEAM STANDINGS: Mt. Pleasant 34, Ft. Madison 48, Fairfield 67, Washington 81, Keokuk 143

BOYS’ ALL-SEC TEAM: 1. Cody Mertens, Mt. Pleasant; 2. Aaron Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 3. Kyle Vanderham, Mt. Pleasant; 4. Dayne Cordray, Ft. Madison; 5. Brennan Horak, Washington; 6. Gannon Courtright, Fairfield; 7. Dalton Moyel, Mt. Pleasant; 8. Evan Horak, Washington; 9. Nathan Steffensmeier, Ft. Madison; 10. Alex Forrest, Fairfield

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.