Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 16, 2017

Five Hawks make first team

By Hunter Tickel | Nov 13, 2013

Mid-Prairie linebacker MVP Reid Miller headlines the list of Golden Hawks players on the 2A District 5 first team.
He led his team with 105 tackles and 42 solo efforts.
Columbus also had some players honored within the district.
Mid-Prairie linebacker Canaan Powell made the cut at the same position. Powell was second on the team with 81 tackles and 36 solo tackles. He was tied for the team lead with four solo tackles for a loss.
Running back Eesaa Baylor made the first team. He had 1,002 yards rushing on 160 carries. His average was 6.3 yards, and he found the end zone 10 times.
Wide out Zachary Schwartz led his squad with 480 receiving yards. He had six touchdown catches and averaged 12.3 yards per reception.
Senior Austin Errthum made dual positions on the first team at defensive back and co-kicker. Errthum made 30 tackles and had 17 solo efforts.
He made 50 percent of his field goals with a long of 47 yards.
Offensive linemen seniors Ben Fiordelise and Trevor Owens made second team all-district.
Honorable mention were seniors Spencer Shalla, Seth Eash and junior Jordan Ulin.
Columbus had three players make the cut for the first team. Senior defensive lineman Kenan Todd led his team with 79 tackles and four sacks.
Junior Chase Finke made the team as a co-punter. Finke averaged 38.9 yards per punt and had a long of 58 yards. Sophomore Mauricio Ramirez was selected as a co-returner. Ramirez averaged 20.6 yards per kick return with a touchdown of 85 yards.
Senior Ricky Rivers earned a spot on the second team.
There were four players who earned honorable mention for the Wildcats: senior Zack Gaddy, junior DJ Beechum, senior Jared Rees and junior quarterback Ethan Leyden.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.