Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

Four Demon wrestlers take first place

Feb 03, 2014
Courtesy of: Steve Green Washington freshman Kyle Anderson (top) tries to keep Fort Madison’s Adam Darley in bounds on Saturday, Feb. 1 at the South Iowa Classic. Anderson won the bout 8 - 0 and claimed the 113-pound title in the tournament.

FAIRFIELD – The Washington High School varsity wrestling team participated in the Southern Iowa Classic Tournament on Saturday, Feb. 1. The Demons brought home four championships, a second-place finish and three third-place finishes.
Freshman Andrew Waite wrestled his way to the title at 106 pounds. Waite got a 6 – 0 decision over Fort Madison’s Dante Searney then pinned Kyle Dooley of Chariton in 0:18. To claim the championship Waite repeated his performance from the second round, pinning Albia’s Storm Little in 0:18 as well.
Waite’s classmate Kyle Anderson got the second championship for Washington in the 113-pound bracket. Anderson received a first-round bye then pinned Fairfield’s Chris Workman in 2:45 to advance to the championship bout. There he got a 8 – 0 decision over Fort Madison’s Adam Darley.
Senior Fletcher Green stayed undefeated on the season, claiming the championship in the tournament for 120 pounds. Green began by pinning Fairfield’s Bailey Jones in 2:39 then got a 9 – 2 decision over Fort Madison’s Tanner Hocker. Green claimed the title by Colton Mertens of Mt. Pleasant losing by injury default.
Freshman Trey Van Weelden lost his first match  20 – 8 to Fort Madison’s Bryce Meyer then got a pin in 1:42 of Fairfield’s Charles Heisel. He got another pin, this time of Chariton’s Nick McDaniel in 2:31. Van Weelden then came up on the short side of an 11 – 3 decision to Shadow Leshen of Albia. He wrestled his way to third place in the 126-pound bracket by getting a 7 – 3 decision over Connor Eads of Mt. Pleasant.
At 132 pounds, senior Tristan Pohren fought his way to second place by pinning Fairfield’s Bailey Kemp in 2:43, Albia’s Luke Sinclair in 1:45, getting a 17 – 1 technical fall over Chariton’s Sawyer Atwell in 5:10 and a 3 – 0 decision over Tyler Lanphier of Mt. Pleasant and finally a 7 – 2 decision over Chase Seaney of Fort Madison.
Sophomore Jarek Brown competed in the 138-pound bracket. He got a pin of Chariton’s Treye Rinehart in 1:45 to start off his day then suffered a 10 – 2 decision defeat at the hands of Albia’s Blake Lawless. Brown had a flare-up of a knee injury that he suffered against Williamsburg on Thursday, Jan. 30 and was unable to continue from there.
Junior Alex Gonzalez took fourth in the 145-pound bracket. Gonzalez got a pin of Samuel Adams of Chariton in 1:28 in his first bout. Brad Irwin of Centerville then won by major decision over Gonzalez 15-7 and Caleb White of Albia pinned Gonzalez in 3:58. Matthew Derr of Fort Madison won by decision over Gonzalez 5 - 0.
Senior Tanner Knupp took third place at 152 pounds. Knupp began his afternoon with a 7 – 4 decision over Nick Otte of Fort Madison then suffered a fall at the hands of Tyler Nance of Chariton in 1:46.
Knupp reversed his luck with a pin of Kade Warren of Centerville in 0:43 but then lost to Griffin Osing of Albia by a 13 – 6 decision.
Senior Logan Howard placed third at 170 pounds. He started out the day by getting pinned by Albia’s Dalton Folkerts in 3:31 then pinned Fort Madison’s Jarrett Sykes in 0:45. Chariton’s Evan Havick got a 4 - 0 decision over Howard but Howard stormed back with pins of Centerville’s Jake Hargrave in 0:22 and Fairfield’s Zane Richmond in 1:26.
Junior Brad Skubal received a first-round bye then got pins of Noah Brown of Mt. Pleasant in 1:34 and Michael Fritz of Fairfield in 1:56 to claim the 182-pound championship.
Washington placed third as a team in the tournament. The Demons wrestle again on Saturday , Feb. 8 at home in sectionals.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.