Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 23, 2017

Mid-Prairie Large Group Speech nominated to All State

Feb 11, 2013

The Mid-Prairie High School speech team competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association (IHSSA) Large Group State contest at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School, on Saturday, Feb. 2. All four group entries received “1” ratings, with three of the four receiving perfect “1-1-1” ratings. Two of the four groups received further honors by being recommended to receive All State medals at the Large Group All State Festival to be held in Ames on Feb. 16.

One group, entered in the Short Film category for the first time, was also recommended to perform at the festival and will therefore be eligible to be named Critic’s Choice in that category. The Critic’s Choice winners for each category take home the IHSSA category banner to display at their school until the next year’s All State Festival. Short Film is a new category, introduced in 2010.

Groups to receive All State medals are “Hurry!" (Ensemble Acting): Brennyn Hawbaker, Christian Crosby, Hannah Mansfield and John Allen; “Stuck in a Musical” (Short Film): Austin Slabaugh, Ben Stone, Brandon Wade, Caleb Davis, James Roth, Jonah Van Roekel, Josh Gingerich and Wade Stutzman.

Each year more than 40,000 students participate in IHSSA. A small percentage (2 to 4 percent) of students are recommended to All State, and even fewer are recommended to perform.


Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.