Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 19, 2017

Mid-Prairie Large Group Speech team advancing to state

Jan 23, 2013

WELLMAN — On Saturday, Jan. 19, the Mid-Prairie High School speech team competed at the Iowa High School Speech Association (IHSSA) Large Group District contest in Keota. Four group entries received “1” ratings and will advance to state competition Feb. 2 at Cedar Rapids Kennedy High School.

Groups advancing are “Cake Catastrophe” (Group Mime): Haylee Marner and Madison Nielsen; “18 More Reasons Not to Be in a Play” (One-Act Play): Andy Roberts, Anna Mayer, Bekah Stone, Ben Ahrens, Brennyn Hawbaker, Brittney Miller, Cathy Meserole, Christian Crosby, Emily Carey, Eva Etheredge, Hannah Mansfield, Haylee Marner, Jessie Teets, John Allan, Levi Runciman, Madisen Nielsen, Mycailah Salvador; “Hurry!” (Ensemble Acting): Brennyn Hawbaker, Christian Crosby, Hannah Mansfield, John Allen; “Stuck in a Musical” (Short Film): Austin Slabaugh, Ben Stone, Brandon Wade, Caleb Davis, James Roth, Jonah Van Roekel, Josh Gingerich, Wade Stutzman.

Short Film is a new category, added by the IHSSA as a trial category in 2010, then fully accepted as an All-State category starting with the 2011 season. This marks Mid-Prairie’s first entry in the new category.




Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.