Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 23, 2017

New members sworn in

By Xiomara Levsen | Oct 15, 2013
Highland school board members from left are: Laura Temple Scheetz, Lois Schneider, Rachel Longbine, and Kevin Engel, who are sworn in by Sue Rich, Highland Board secretary and business manager, at the meeting on Monday, Oct. 14.

RIVERSIDE—The Highland Community School District school board held its organizational meeting with the new school board members on Monday, Oct. 14.
Highland Community School District school board secretary and business manager Sue Rich swore in three new members, Lois Schneider for Dist. 4, Rachel Longbine for Dist. 1, and Laura Temple Scheetz for Dist. 5.
Kevin Engel, who ran unopposed in Dist. 3, was also sworn in for another term.
After the board members were sworn in, the elections for board president and vice president were held. Kevin Engel was elected president, and Mike Golden as vice president.
The school board committees were also organized. The Building, Finance, and Personnel Committee will include Cindy Michel, Nick Smith, and Engel. The Transportation, Building and Grounds Committee will include Mike Golden and Longbine. The Student Activities, Curriculum, Procedure, and Policy Committee will include Schneider and Temple-Scheetz.
The Iowa Association of School Board representative will be Engel. The Technology Committee will include Golden, Longbine, and Schneider and The Highland Foundation will have Mike Golden for the board representative.
Other items covered at the school board meeting were:
• approving the request for early graduation for Rebecca Davisson;
• approving the annual report for the 2012-13 fiscal year general fund in the amount of $7,522,546;
• approving the special education supplement for the 2012-13 fiscal year for the amount of $1,517,212;
• and approving the transportation report for the 2012-13 fiscal year in the amount of $343,236.
The next school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, Nov. 11, at 7 p.m.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.