Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 22, 2017

Papers filed

Two cities report contested races
By David Hotle | Sep 20, 2013

In the Washington County Auditor’s office today, clerks from cities throughout the county filed the nominating papers turned in Thursday by hopefuls for public office.
A special election will be held on Oct. 8 to select a candidate to fill the vacant District 5 supervisor seat formerly held by Ron Bennett, and the municipal election is scheduled for Nov. 5.  In the municipal election, only Washington and Riverside reported contested races.

Special supervisor election
Supervisors approved holding a special election to fill Bennett’s chair after Bennett resigned earlier this year. The Democrat nominee for the position is Terry Philips, while the GOP choice is Richard Young. Nominated by petition are Allen Fuhr, Merle Hagie, Jerry King, and Randy Payne. A candidate forum will be held from 6 to 7:30 p.m. Monday, Sept. 30, in the Washington Public Library.

City of Brighton
Mayor Robert Farley has filed nominating papers to run for another four-year term, while incumbent Charles Emry and newcomer David Hagans have filed to run for two open council seats.

City of Crawfordsville
Incumbent Mayor Tom Conrad has announced his intention to run for another four-year term. Also on the ballot to fill three open council seats are Carolyn Steele, Gene Miller and newcomer Michel Blum.

City of Kalona
Running for three four-year council seats in Kalona are incumbents Craig Spitzer and Mark Robe and newcomer Joe Schmidt.

City of Riverside
In Riverside, both the mayor’s race and two city council terms are contested. Incumbent Mayor Bill Poch has filed to run for another term, while newcomer Nate Robinson will challenge Poch for the position.
Incumbents Kevin Kiene and Ralph Schnoebelen, and newcomers Tom Sexton and Carolyn McLaughlin will compete for two open council seats.

City of Washington
The only contested race in Washington will be the at-large seat currently held by Merle Hagie. Hagie, who is also running for the vacated county supervisor seat formerly held by Ron Bennett, has submitted papers to run for the city council seat. Also on the ballot will be Lyn Thomas and Kathryn Salazar.
Sandra Johnson will run unopposed to keep her position as mayor. In the 2nd Ward, Russ Zieglowsky will also run unopposed to keep his seat. Newcomer Jaron Rosien is throwing his hat into the ring to take over outgoing council member Fred Stark’s 4th Ward seat.  Kevin Caldwell is running for a park commissioner seat.

City of Wellman
In Wellman, Mayor Ryan Miller will run unopposed to keep his seat. Bern Bontrager will also run unopposed for a four-year council seat. Newcomers Jared Schneider and Robert Goodrich will also run unopposed for council seats.

City of West Chester
In West Chester, incumbent Chad Peiffer will run for another two-year term. Five candidates have also filed to fill five council seats. Running are incumbents Jennifer Tobin, Bryan Tobin, and Laurie Johnson, and newcomers Vanessa Eastwood and Brandy Rechly.

The Ainsworth nominees had not been filed prior to press time.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.