Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 22, 2017

Polls open for primary election

By Xiomara Levsen | May 29, 2014

The Washington County Auditor’s Office will have special hours this Saturday for people who would like to cast absentee ballots ahead of next Tuesday’s Democratic and Republican primary election.
“We’ll be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Saturday,” Washington County Auditor Dan Widmer said. “We would like to get the word out and let people know we are here that day.”
Sometimes the Washington County Auditor’s office is open the Saturday before an election and only a few people come in to vote, Widmer said. He thinks that is most likely due to people not knowing the office is open.
If voters don’t come in to vote on Saturday, then they will have to report to their regular polling place on Tuesday, June 3.
According to the Washington County Auditor’s Web site, the deadline for requesting an absentee ballot to be mailed to you is Friday, May 30. The postmark deadline for the absentee ballot is June 2 and must be received by the auditor’s office by Monday, June 9.
Primary elections will be held on Tuesday, June 3. Polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m.
People wishing to vote in the primary election will have to be registered with a specific party, said Sue Meeks of the Washington County Auditor’s office.
Someone wishing to vote can change his or her political affiliation at the polls, which would change his or her voter registration with the state, Meeks said.
Voters in the Ainsworth Precinct, which has the City of Ainsworth, Oregon Township, Highland Township, and Iowa Township, can vote at the Ainsworth Fire Department located at 645 Highway 92 in Ainsworth.
Voters in the Brighton-Marion- Crawford Precinct, which has the City of Brighton, City of Coppock, City of Crawfordsville, Brighton Township, Marion Township, and Crawford Township, can vote at the Brighton Community Building, located at 100 E. Washington St. in Brighton.
Voters in the Kalona Precinct, which has the City of Kalona and the English River Township, can vote at the Kalona Community Building located at 307 Sixth St. in Kalona.
Voters in the Riverside Precinct, which has the City of

Riverside and the Iowa Township, can vote at Riverside City Hall located at 60 Greene St.
Voters in the Wellman Precinct, which includes the City of Wellman, Lime Creek Township, and English River Township can vote at the Parkside Activities Center in Wellman, located at 525 13th St.
The West Chester Precinct, which includes the City of West Chester, Franklin Township, Cedar Township, Seventy-six Township, Dutch Creek Township, and Clay Township, can vote at the Heritage Building in West Chester located at 510 Main St.
The City of Washington has four wards for its voters. The polling place for Ward 1 is at the Washington County Courthouse located at 222 W. Main St. The polling place for Ward 2 is at the Central Park Community Center, located at 107 W. Washington St. The polling place for Ward 3 is the former library located at 102 E. Main St., and the polling place for Ward 4 is at Halcyon House, located at the South Ave. B entrance.
The unofficial results of the primary elections will be released after the polls close on Tuesday, June 3. The official results will be released on Tuesday, June 10, after the Washington County Supervisors canvass the votes. A full list of candidates running in the primary elections can be found on the Washington County Auditor’s Web site.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.