Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 17, 2017

Slechta not retained for coming term

By David Hotle | Jan 18, 2013
The new officers for the Washington County Riverboat Foundation are, from left, Teri Fisher, secretary; Patty Koller, president; Mike Driscoll, vice president; and Liz Hall, treasurer.

A tie vote of the 12 members of the Washington County Riverboat Foundation determined Wednesday that member Ron Slechta would not serve on the foundation board for another term.
During the annual meeting at the Riverside Casino and Golf Resort, in which the candidates to serve as directors were voted on, a ballot was given to retain directors Liz Hall, Mike Driscoll, Teri Fisher, Slechta and Fay Vittetoe, whose terms had expired at the end of last year. The term was for three years. A secret ballot was filled out and collected. Directors Kenny Kempf and John Conway counted the ballots. They called acting president Patricia Koller and legal council Katie Mitchell to discuss the findings. After about 10 minutes of deliberation, Koller read the names of the directors who were reappointed.
“Not Ron,” she said at the end. “A majority did not approve him.”
Koller adjourned the meeting. Without saying a word, Slechta took a few papers out of a binder and left them on the table in front of him. Without saying a word, he stood up and walked out the door.
After the main meeting, Koller said that she did not believe that a board member had ever been voted off the board. She said it was difficult to make the announcement.
“It meant that he was not re-elected by a majority of the board, so the motion failed,” Koller said.
Earlier in the meeting, the board had approved having 14 members on the board. The board was already looking for another member after Tim Putney resigned to take a job outside of Washington County.
Koller said the individuals voted and there was no specific reason Slechta was not reappointed. She said that Mitchell had determined, looking at the bylaws, that a tie is not a majority and the motion failed.
During the regular meeting, the nominating committee made recommendations for officers to serve during the coming year. Members had been asked if they wished to serve as officers, and anyone who expressed interest had been put on the ballot. In the case of all four officers, the candidates ran unopposed. When the results were read, Koller, who had been serving as acting president since Putney left in October, had been elected president. Driscoll will serve as vice president. Fisher will be the secretary. Hall was elected treasurer.
Members of the nominating committee are Adam Richards, Conway, Kempf, Michelle Blum and Vittetoe.
Koller said that she sees the future of the board being much the same as it has been for the last several years. As president she hopes the board continues in the same direction. She said that, having served as vice president for many years, she is looking forward to being president.
“I kind of liked the way we gave out the grants last time,” Koller said, of the banquet that accompanied the grant awards. “It was festive and fun.”

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.