Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 18, 2017
Prep football

Ten Golden Hawks earn all-district accolades

By Travis J. Brown, Journal Sports Editor | Dec 06, 2012
Austin Errthum

Ten Mid-Prairie football players were honored recently when the Class 2A All-District 5 teams were released. The Golden Hawks finished second in the district with a 6-1 record, and they finished 8-3 overall, reaching the second round of the state playoffs.

Junior Austin Errthum was selected as the district’s top kicker, while senior Ryan Hoffman was named the district’s top kick returner.

Errthum, who also earned second team all-state honors from the Iowa Newspaper Association, nailed seven of his 11 field goal attempts this season, including a 58-yarder that was the longest in school history and the third-longest in state history. On top of that, Errthum was a very steady 30-for-32 on PAT kicks.

Hoffman led the district in yards per kickoff return (29.5) and returns for touchdown (2) this season. He totaled 384 kickoff return yards on 13 returns, and he also returned 12 punts for a total of 158 yards.

Mid-Prairie senior Nathan Thomann and juniors Reid Miller, Eesaa Baylor and Canaan Powell were selected to the all-district first team.

Thomann, a two-year starter at defensive end, made 58 tackles, including four quarterback sacks this season, and recovered a team-high three fumbles.

Miller was Mid-Prairie’s quarterback and leading tackler. He completed 58 percent of his passes this season for 1,253 yards, nine touchdowns and 10 interceptions, and he also rushed for three scores. He totaled 99 tackles from his linebacker spot, and he intercepted a pass.

Baylor averaged over 100 yards per game while playing in the Golden Hawks’ final 10 games after filling in for injured teammate Logan Wadsworth. Baylor finished the season with 1,022 yards and 13 touchdowns, and he also caught a 37-yard touchdown pass from Miller.

Powell, a fullback and linebacker, rushed for 230 yards and two scores and was Mid-Prairie’s second-leading tackler with 87 on the season.

Senior David Aldeman, senior Elliot Runciman, junior Zachary Schwartz and sophomore Jordan Ulin received second team all-district honors for the Golden Hawks.

Aldeman was third on the squad with 73 tackles, including 11 for a loss. He also recovered a fumble.

Runciman was the team’s leading receiver, making 30 catches for 366 yards and four touchdowns. He also intercepted three passes on defense.

Schwartz was fourth on the team with 63 tackles, and Ulin was sixth with 49 stops.

Columbus, which improved to 3-8 this season after back-to-back winless seasons, had eight all-district selections.

Senior Esteban Gutierrez was named the district’s top running back after rushing for 1,008 yards and seven touchdowns even though he played in only 7½ games due to injury. Gutierrez was a tough runner, and he ran for 132 yards in the Wildcats’ last game of the season despite playing on a sprained ankle.

Senior Alex Martinez and juniors Mark Ramirez and Ricky Rivers were selected to the all-district first team.

Martinez, a two-time all-district offensive lineman, was selected as the Most Valuable Player of the Wildcats’ squad because most of Gutierrez’s yards came behind him.

Ramirez led the Wildcats with 63 tackles from his linebacker spot, including nine for a loss. He also rushed for 655 yards and two touchdowns.

Rivers was the Wildcats’ top receiver, catching 12 passes for 318 yards and seven touchdowns.

Senior Javi Diaz, senior Irvin Rodriguez, junior Kenan Todd and sophomore Chase Finke received second team all-district honors for Columbus.

Diaz and Rodriguez made 14 tackles apiece for the Wildcats. Todd made 35 stops and was a key member of the Wildcat offensive line. Finke was third on the team in tackles with 41, made 12 catches for 170 yards and two touchdowns on offense, and he averaged 34.5 yards per punt.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.