Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 19, 2017

WACO’s Janecek earns co-MVP district status

By Hunter Tickel | Nov 13, 2013

WACO running back Tucker Janecek was co-MVP of the Class A District 5 team. He rushed for 1,230 yards this season with a 7.8 average. He ran for 15 touchdowns, with a long of 45 yards.
Highland quarterback Kody Wood garnered first-team selection. He passed for 1,073 yards, while completing 55.8 percent of his passes. He threw 10 touchdowns to seven interceptions.
Highland wide out Jesse Hootman made the first team. He had 24 catches for 303 yards. He averaged 12.6 yards per catch. Hootman had three touchdown receptions.
WACO junior Josh Shumaker earned a spot on the offensive line first team. He blocked for a team that had 2,602 rushing yards and 30 scores.
WACO linebacker Isaac Black made the first team. He was second on his team with 64 tackles and second on his team with six tackles for a loss.
WACO defensive back Dylan Carlson rounded the out the list of first teamers. He made 23 tackles, had one for a loss and one sack. He returned his lone interception 85 yards for a touchdown.
WACO had five players make the second team: senior Jerome Farrier, senior Cey Saeugling, sophomore Bryce Achen, senior Micahel Stutzman and sophomore Jackson Gerot.
Highland had four players honored on the second team: senior Casey Castillo, junior Jake Yeggy, sophomore Nick Sandburg and junior Bryan Garcia.
The Warriors had 23 student-athletes make the academic team with a minimum GPA of 3.25. The list included: Isaac Black, Jonathan McArtor, Josiah Anderson, Jaelyn Unter nahrer, Braden Blake, Dylon Evans, Jackson Gerot, Halle Kissell, Katie Malloy, Jackson Roth, Josh Shumaker, Kayla Leichty, Duncan Pickard, Jordan Rodgers, Katelyn Thomson, Mason Barnhart, Achen, Gabe Black, Joe Mitchell, Kylea Malloy, Adrian Unternahrer, Chloe Butler and Janecek.  
The Huskies had 27 athletes make the all-academic team. Making the grade were Colin Sexton, Sam Kruse, Yeggy, Spencer Wieland, Bill Burton, Matt Hoenig, Johnny Poeschel, Bryce West, Drew West, Jake Wood, Kody Wood, Lane Welsh, Tucker Hall, Nick Sandburg, Edward Berns, Bryce Clarke, Blake Donovan, Trent Lasek, Chase Rath, Brooke Kreiss, Lindsay Weber, Taylor Nicola, Katie Cermak, Danielle Neal, Lacey Sexton, Victoria Tillery and Ashlyn Weber.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.