Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 21, 2017

Washington County 4-H’ers win photography award

Aug 21, 2014
Photo by: Washington County 4-H Addison Six, daughter of Aaron and April Six of Washington, entered a color photo of a jellyfish. Courtney Shalla, daughter of Doug and Connie Shalla of Kalona, entered a sepia photo of a young girl.

Washington County is proud to have two recipients of only 20 special photography awards given at the Iowa State Fair. A 4-H medallion has been awarded to Washington County 4-H members Addison Six of the Washington Hustlers, and Courtney Shalla of the Riverside Ramblers for an outstanding 4-H photography project sponsored by The Professional Photographers of Iowa. The projects were exhibited in the 4-H Exhibits Building at the Iowa State Fair.

Iowa has more than 14,000 4-H’ers enrolled in photography — among the highest in the 50 states, according to Mitchell Hoyer, program specialist for Iowa State University Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development and 4-H Exhibits Building Superintendent.

“It’s great that sponsors recognize and encourage youth to explore a wide variety of talents through 4-H projects,” Hoyer said. “4-H members will be able to experience and experiment with different media through continued support.”

“We are very proud of the personal accomplishments of 4-H participants in this project area and the educational learning experiences they gain,” said LuAnn Johansen, assistant director of ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H Youth Development.

Washington County Creative Arts results follow, in order of name, class, and judging results:

Washington: Abbygail Voss, Photography, blue; Addison Gaal, Photography, blue; Addison Six, Photography, blue, PPI Honorable Mention; Hailey Shultz, Photography, blue; Jack Strabala, Photography, blue; Jacob Ross, Photography, blue; Kylen Anderson, Photography, blue; Lucas Kitchen, Photography, blue; Madison Fishback, Photography, blue; Makenna Burdock, Photography, blue

Ainsworth: Emily Hora, Music, blue; Keiffer Sexton, Photography, blue

Crawfordsville: Kristen Twinam, Photography, blue

Harper: Frankie Johnson, Photography, blue

Kalona: Courtney Shalla, Photography, blue, PPI Honorable Mention

Keota: Sophie Bell, Photography, blue

Riverside: Amanda Pfeifer, Visual Arts, blue; Haley Sweeting, Photography, blue; Makenzi Marek, Photography, red; Sarah Schneider, Visual Arts, blue; Wil Marek, Visual Arts, blue

Wellman: Hannah Van Roekel, Music, blue; Kaycee Miller, Visual Arts, blue






Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.