Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Oct 19, 2017

Wayland News

By Judith Hueholt, Wayland Correspondent | Sep 17, 2013

Olds Lions Club resumed its regular meetings with a membership drive and hot dog roast in the Olds City Park on Tuesday, Sept. 10.

During this meeting, two members of the club, Gary Anderson and Scott Meth, received the Warren Coleman Honorary Award for their outstanding volunteerism. Over the past few years they performed an essential service for the Iowa Lions Eye Bank. They have used their personal vehicles and provided the gas to transport eye tissue that has been used for transplant that has restored vision to its recipients. Both Anderson and Meth have logged over 3,300 miles to be eligible for this award.

The new 2013-14 year meeting was then opened and zone chairman Lion Randy Finke performed the swearing in of the 2013-14 officers.

The officers installed were president Scott A. Meth, first vice president Fred Roth, second vice president Darrell Smith, and third vice president Monte Kann. Gary Anderson will continue as treasurer and Gary Lauger as secretary. Other positions appointed were Darrell Smith as membership chairperson and Tail Twister, Gail Smith as Leo liaison, and Ruth Meth as historian and publicity chairperson.

In addition to Finke, other special guests attending were Dist. Gov. Fred Stark and his wife Nan, Leo sponsor Carole Martins, and the spouses, children and other family of club members.

Chapter Iowa J of National T.T.T. Society met at 7 p.m. Monday, Sept. 16, at the Wayland Community Center with 13 members present. Hostesses Ann Krabill and Shirley Krabill served delicious refreshments.

President Ann Wilson presented the service in memory of Donna Swartzendruber.

Ann opened the business meeting with a reading from “Fabulosity.”

Treasurer pro-tem Willa Wilson gave the treasurer’s report. A report was given of the proceeds from the Tip Night. All who worked stated it was a very enjoyable way to raise funds for campers' expenses. Motion carried that the group will not make cheese balls this year.

It was noted that the stated memorial gifts in memory of member Donna Swartzendruber and the stated memorial gift in memory of her brother will be sent to National Project Fund.

Motion carried to reimburse Joni for the school supplies she had purchased. Members are to review Standing Rules, especially No. 9, and be prepared to review and possibly change said rule at the October meeting.

President Ann thanked Ann and Shirley for their gracious hosting.

The next meeting will be held at 7 p.m. Monday, Oct. 7, at the Community Center with Lorri Conrad and Georgia Fort as hostesses.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.