Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Nov 21, 2017

Wayland News

By Judith Hueholt, Wayland Correspondent | Apr 09, 2013

The Wayland Economic Development Corporation Board announces its annual Memorial Day Breakfast to begin at 6:30 a.m. on Monday, May 27, 2013. Sausage, pancakes and eggs and drinks will be served for a free-will donation. All proceeds will go toward the new Industrial Park East start-up fund. Plan now to come to Wayland for a delicious breakfast on May 27.

In an article published recently by Yahoo! Sports, Michigan’s John Beilein is noted as being a descendant of soldiers who inspired the movie “Saving Private Ryan.” Beilein is the men’s basketball coach at the University of Michigan. “It’s quite a story,” Beilein, 60, told Yahoo! Sports Tuesday morning. “I say to my children all the time, we all know we came from very strong stock, we realize the sacrifices they made and we need to try to carry it on. Because that is one courageous generation.”

The article goes into great length telling stories of World War II and those who served in it.

Many stories are shared of the Niland cousins who served.

The article goes on to say: “They’ve recently been passing around another book – “Glider Infantryman: Behind Enemy Lines in World War II,” by Donald Rich, a member of the 101st Airborne that day in Normandy and writer Kevin Brooks.” It is full of stories about those days – the tragedy and tension, the heroes and horrors. It features a bunch of the Niland boys. Their kids and nephews and cousins' sons are continuing to learn more and more about what happened. ‘It’s a phenomenal book,’ Beilein said. If there is one shared regret of them all, it’s that they didn’t coax more stories out of the survivors while they could. Part of it was a failure of communication. Part, of course, was the sheer unwillingness of that generation to share war stores.’”

Nine members of Chapter Iowa J of Wayland attended the 65th annual Iowa State T.T.T. convention held in Ames, April 12-13. Those attending were Ann Wilson, current chapter president and past state and national president; Diann Miller, past state president; chapter delegates Lori Messer and Georgia Fort; and members Linda Groff, Willa Wilson, Linda Messer, Donna Fischer and Judith Hueholt.

On Friday, 138 voting members were registered; and on Saturday, 117 voting members. In all, 326 T.T.T. members representing 71 chapters attended the convention.

Along with other business, the 2013-14 state officers were elected: president, Connie Boyce; vice president, Reta Krieger; organizer, Carol Hansen; corresponding secretary, Karen Schaapveld; treasurer, Daphne Emmack-Owens; recording secretary, Kim Langley; and historian, Brenda Hackbarth.

Claire Conner, administrative assistant at the T.T.T. National Office, was given a special introduction. Claire began her duties on Jan. 1, 2013. On Saturday, a special recognition was given to Sherry Hope for her 19 years of service to T.T.T. as the administrative assistant in the national office.

The 66th annual Iowa State T.T.T. convention will be held in Waterloo on April 11-12, 2014, at the Five Sullivan Brothers Convention Center, Ramada Inn on 205 West Fourth Street.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.