Washington Evening Journal

Fairfield Ledger   Mt. Pleasant News
Neighbors Growing Together | Aug 21, 2018

Wrestlers dual well at East Marshall

Jan 22, 2018

Matt Bryant, The JOURNAL


The Demon wrestling team traveled to East Marshall Saturday to compete in the East Marshall Dual Tournament. Washington finished 3-1 by defeating the host school, Sigourney-Keota and Independence before falling to Union in the team’s final dual.

Tristin Westphal-Edwards improved to 32-1 on the season by notching four victories for the day. Westphal-Edwards’ first match against East Marshall’s Noah Bandstra went through the first three periods of regulation tied before the Demons Class 2A #3 ranked wrestler got the fall 0:35 into the sudden victory round. Westphal-Edwards won his next three matches by fall, major decision and fall respectively. He now has a total of 17 pins for the season.

Washington’s David Hora had similar results, including the first match determined in sudden victory. Hora came up just short against East Marshall, dropping a 9-7 decision, but pinned his next three opponents to go 3-1 for the tournament. He bounced between wrestling at 145-pounds and 152-pounds while also notching his 17th fall of the season.

The Demon’s Murphy boys all came to wrestle. At 113-pounds Brennan Murphy went 3-1. 182-pounder Colin Murphy earned a 3-1 record. Tanner Murphy won all four matches wrestling at 220-pounds and improved his season record to 23-4.

Washington (48) vs. East Marshall / GMG (22)

152: Cole Nauman (EMG) over David Hora (SV-1 9-7) 160: Kiowa Keith over Dillon Lee (EMG) (Fall 1:35) 170: 2A #3 Tristin Westphal-Edwards over Noah Bandstra (EMG) (SV-1 (Fall) 6:35) 182: Collin Murphy over Connor Murty (EMG) (Dec 4-0) 195: Tanner Murphy over Isrrael Vargas-Rodriguez (EMG) (Fall 1:09) 220: Tristan Allender over Tayte Nauman (EMG) (Fall 0:49) 285: Mitchell Huisenga over (EMG) (For.) 106: Matt Collett over (EMG) (For.) 113: Brennan Murphy over (EMG) (For.) 120: Carson Burchland (EMG) over Walker Ikerd (Fall 3:32) 126: Dane Thompson (EMG) over Joey Labelle (MD 9-0) 132: Josh Terrones (EMG) over Ayden Frazier (Dec 8-3) 138: Justin Simmering over Samuel Bandstra (EMG) (Dec 6-4) 145: Dawson Riemenschneider (EMG) over Cade Pohren (Fall 2:53)

Washington (55) vs. Sigourney-Keota (24)

160: Jesse Fritz (S-K) over (WASH) (For.) 170: 2A #3 Tristin Westphal-Edwards over Nate Schuster (S-K) (Fall 1:36) 182: Collin Murphy over Zeke Webb (S-K) (Fall 1:44) 195: Tanner Murphy over Mac Conrad (S-K) (MD 10-2) 220: Tristan Allender (WASH) over Gavin Bird (S-K) (Fall 1:51) 285: 1A #2 (@ 220) Kaleb Reeves (S-K) over (For.) 106: 1A #9 Mason Dye (S-K) over Matt Collett (Fall 2:36) 113: Brennan Murphy over (S-K) (For.) 120: Walker Ikerd over Gidien Goff (S-K) (Fall 0:41) 126: Joey Labelle over (S-K) (For.) 132: Luke House (S-K) over Ayden Frazier (Fall 0:51) 138: Garrett Ikerd over Nick Ives (S-K) (Dec 8-5) 145: David Hora over Trent Hendricks (S-K) (Fall 1:55) 152: Kiowa Keith over Zech Boender (S-K) (Fall 3:46)

Washington (43) vs. Independence (30)

170: 2A #3 Tristin Westphal-Edwards over Cole Davis (INDE) (MD 15-2) 182: Collin Murphy over Joe Kaiser (INDE) (Fall 5:54) 195: Tanner Murphy over Tayten Freidhof (INDE) (Dec 5-3) 220: 2A #7 Hunter Crawford (INDE) over Tristan Allender (Fall 1:02) 285: Mitchell Huisenga over (INDE) (For.) 106: Matt Collett over Ryan Eddy (INDE) (Fall 3:35) 113: Brennan Murphy over Brock Eldridge (INDE) (Fall 0:53) 120: Walker Ikerd over Thomas Matteson (INDE) (Fall 1:48) 126: Holdyn Griffith (INDE) over Joey Labelle

(Fall 0:51) 132: Fischer Crawford (INDE) over Ayden Frazier (Fall 2:40) 138: 2A #7 Matthew Doyle (INDE) over Garrett Ikerd (Dec 6-5) 145: David Hora over Joe Priebe (INDE) (Fall 3:29) 152: Jarret Orr (INDE) over Kiowa Keith (Dec 10-4) 160: Seth House (INDE) over (WASH) (For.)

Union (46) vs. Washington (30)

182: Lane Albertsen (UNIO) over Collin Murphy (Dec 5-2) 195: Tanner Murphy over (UNIO) (For.) 220: Rashawn Williams (UNIO) over Tristan Allender (Fall 3:22) 285: Mitchell Huisenga over (UNIO) (For.) 106: Kolten Crawford (UNIO) over Matt Collett (Fall 0:55) 113: Payton Hellman (UNIO) over Brennan Murphy (Fall 1:58) 120: 2A #4 Jack Thomsen (UNIO) over Walker Ikerd (MD 19-6) 126: Lake LeBahn (UNIO) over Joey Labelle (Fall 0:40) 132: Ayden Frazier over (UNIO) (For.) 138: Adam Ahrendsen (UNIO) over Garrett Ikerd (Dec 9-8) 145: Gavin Miller (UNIO) over Cade Pohren (Fall 1:24) 152: David Hora over John Millard (UNIO) (Fall 0:59) 160: Kaleb Roach (UNIO) over Kiowa Keith (Fall 0:59) 170: 2A #3 Tristin Westphal-Edwards over Payton Pelke (UNIO) (Fall 2:33)

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.